This summer I began training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) and Muay Thai Kickboxing with a couple of instructors. One of my Senseis is a retired Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) cage fighter and excessively admires my aggressive performance. His wife is one of the Kickboxing Senseis, always hugging me and exclaiming how jealous she is of my squats or kicks or strenght. The Sensei who instructs me the most is one of the most supportive and inspiring people I’ve met in my life. He’s full of understanding and dedicated to motivating us.  I’m sassy and outgoing when I’m in class; I usually end up getting told to do burpees as punishment for extreme sass, but I do love my instructors. (Burpees are an exercise where you squat, drop into a push up, and jump back up–all in one motion. They’re punishment because they’re brutal.)

full post and fascinating insight in this sport from a beginner shaybnana

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

