The Guardian :

I left my business, husband and family to volunteer at the Calais refugee camp

Migrants and refugees in the ‘Jungle’ in Calais.

It was a Saturday morning. August. I remember it vividly. I was online, sat up in bed, browsing, not looking for anything in particular. An article caught my eye: it was about the refugee crisis. Men, women and children were risking their lives to get to western Europe, and many were dying in the process. It was a story of endurance and terrible trauma. In response I expected compassion, a swell of fellow feeling. But my heart sank as I read the comments. There was so much cruelty. These people whose suffering was so much greater than anything I had experienced were being dehumanised, talked about as though they were rats. It made me feel sick. I thought: I don’t want to be like this. I want to show that there are people in Britain who care.

My husband came upstairs to find me crying. I felt helpless and angry. The best way to answer the heartlessness I’d seen online would be to make a donation – to provide some material support to the refugees and make their lives a bit easier. I thought it would be easy to find a big charity that I could send money to. But I looked and looked, and didn’t find anything. Eventually I came across Stand up to Racism. They were sending supplies to Calais, where thousands of refugees were staying. I suddenly realised that I wanted to offer more than cash. Before I knew it, I was making plans to drive to Dover and use my car to help transport clothing across the channel.

full story at :The Guardian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

